Ok.
I meant to post earlier, but GOD has there been a lot as of late. The semester is coming to a close soon though, so with just a week left I should be fine to post at my regular pace by next week. For now, ima try to keep it short.
Even so, we have a LOT to discuss :p.
For one, I never got around to the albums I listened to, so let me finally get around to it.
I finally listened to temporex, specifically his 2017 album in full, and I really liked it! The beginning is strong as hell and throws you right into the atmosphere of the album, very dreamy and quite melancholic for me personally. Then you go into the next track, nice boys.
…
DO I HAVE TO EXPLAIN NICE BOYS?
You know the track, I know the track, your whole fucking family has probably heard the track, let’s not pretend I even need to explain this to you, ITS AMAZING.
The track, and the whole album honestly, feels oddly liminal, but extremely comforting. It’s reminiscent of old memories and also awfully mellow while doing so, with an odd childhood feel to it all. Especially Nice boys.
But I mean, come on, YOU KNOW.
Then you have care right after that, another really nice track, more somber than nice boys, again very liminal (with a very cool harp >:)) but also keeping up the hangup from nice boys, that being that this man is NOT over somebody, frankly, he’s depressed as hell, but that’s neither here nor there.
Then finally, you have lost in a flower field, a song later in the track that’s a bit punchier than the rest of the album. Neat, but with the same depressed, and honestly kinda bland lyrics.
And yea, that’s sort of what im trying to segway into is that if im being honest, that’s all I really ended up enjoying out of the album ~_~, and even those few tracks were a bit more milktoast than I was hoping for.
Dont get me wrong, the album starts strong, and if we’re talking just production, its damn near excellent the first 3 tracks, but then it sort of tapers off in the latter half of the album for me. It just didnt grab me the same way as the first track, Hi, nice boys, or care.
And then there’s the slight elephant in the room, the lyrics. Its kinda boring, lame at times, and weirdly antagonistic? Like, idk if this is an overexaggeration, but its things like the “bitch” in nice boys where im just thinking, do we really need to be this mad? Its kinda lame.
Thats a small example, but I illustrate it to get across that that sad ass attitude kinda just permeates the whole album after nice boys starts. Literally the NEXT track is how the girl hes talking to is like hes talking to a wall, a later song is about how he cant get out of bed (and the actual lyrics describing this are pretty meh), he very randomly mentions jacking off at some point?????
Its tries to do melancholy, which I LIKE, but more in a middle school boy woe is me sort of way, and the cracks are pretty apparent by the end of the listen. It makes what otherwise could have been an amazingly atmospheric experience feel like an okay listen with a vent session tagged on, and that sort of hampers the mood for me.
THAT BEING SAID, I’m still happy I found Hi, that track is awesome, and some of the other instrunments are really fun too, but it ends up not being my style. O well.
Now for the SECOND album, things get a little bit interesting, since instead of a wavering interest, it actually grew on me quite a lot by my second listen.
It’s the black parade, and MY GOODNESS was I thrown off on my first listen.
Look, I did EXACTLY, TO THE LETTER, what I said I was gonna do the last time I mentioned how I’d listen to it, I played it on the way to class, but I guess I must have not been in the mood because I was NOT feeling it to be honest X).
It felt so unabashedely CORNY, AND I DUNNO WHY. Like the most typical stereotype of the emo voice with all the fluctuations and shit, and then the track where we’re just repeatedely yelling at mama about how we’re all gonna die.
I hadnt even finished the album, Id only really gotten halfway through, but I was already SURE that I was gonna get on here next post and say the same thing as I did about temporex, that I just didnt like it and that it wasnt for me. But then, I listened to it again.
And it was alright. It wasnt as bad this time, at least it didnt come off anywhere near as corny as I felt the first time. Dont get me wrong, still corny, but it was more endearing than anything. I liked it a lot more on that listen.
So I kept listening, and the more I got through the album again, both the first two tracks (cool transition :0), mama, and teenagers, I think it’s really fun honestly! I like that its just super balls to the walls like 80% of the time, and is very unabashedely over the top, even if it gets excessive a lot of the time. Still though, its always very angsty, and usually its quite fun rather than not. Especially mama, I acutally really like it now!
The guitar is going NUTS the entire album, and its such a fun album to rock along to too (who would have guessed).
And what a fun way to end the album :p. Its just sort of quite, and then you got this cheery angsty goodbye like your at a circus’s final performance, sweet!
Honestly, Its FUN, and fun is like one of my top 3 favorite things so I mean that as a compliment. Its silly, and angsty and cathartic, and it wears it on its sleeve, and thats awesome. Cant wait to try out three cheers for sweet revenge next, and see if that scratches a similar itch.
Who knows, maybe ill even delve into more rock emo music than just the literal STAPLE, my chemical romance.
Dont get your hopes up though (;n_n).
Besides, you know what im most into, and its also what the last couple of listens have been of. Electronic music.
And what better way to cap off the mention of staple artists than THE electronic artist himself, someone I frankly should have checked out MUUUUCH earlier than I did, Aphex twin.
This guy, my goodness, his music is INSANE, INSANE I TELL YOU.
Look, my first tidbit of knowledge about his stuff was from pulsewidth on his first album, I picked it up on some autoplay, and IMMEDIATELY snatched it. It’s such a good mish mash of digital noise, such a nice atmosphere, super chill, I loved it. Then, like 2 weeks ago, I decided to run through the album, again, on the way to class.
The selected works album, his first one, is long, so I didnt end up finishing it by the time I got to class. but more shockingly, HOLY SHIT ITS OLD.
I was listening to it like any other EDM (in this case more IDM (intelligent dance music)) that i’d normally listen to, and the whole time all I could think was DAMN are these noises cool, shit that could easily have been made this year, or at least in the 2000s.
Come to find out in the bathroom before heading to class, after checking where I’d reached on the album, he made it in 1992. NINETEEN NINETY-TWO. WHAT.
Then the rabbit hole opened. For one this man, richard david james, has an INSANE history, and supposedely made the first selected works before he was even 18, Tinkering with tech far before he’d even make these selected works.
Then theres all the other tracks hes made, the albums, the FACES, the damn FACE BEARS, VENTOLIN.
APPARENTLY MY INHALER SOUNDS LIKE METAL TEETH GRINDING.
INSANITY, PURE INSANITY I TELL YOU.
Also, several viral sounds, like QKThr, which you’ll be blown away to hear again, im sure of it, and avril 14th, a piece I swore Id never heard but now know that a comedy group used a version of (which they didnt get permission to use so 160,000 dollars had to be paid out) for a skit about gay love with the previous IRANIAN PRESIDENT.
O my O.O.
Holy hell is some of this guys trivia just insanity, but also holy hell is the music awesome. I fucking LOVED the selected works album, and have listened to a couple of other tracks here or there like avril 14th (beutiful piece), ventolin (I didnt know my inhaler sounded like that), and donkey rhubarb, but there’s still so much to unpack. For one, the NEXT selected works album, followed by the rest of the music that hes made in its entirety, I really wanna get through.
The ambient works tracks are quite slow at times, but they never dissapoint. That, and I know in later albums he picks up the pace, which Im excited to hear. Ill let you know how it goes :).
And yea, those are some of the albums I’ve listened to as of l8 :v. I hope it was a fun read, I enjoyed writing it.
If you’r curious about any of the artists or tracks that Ive mentioned, CHECK THEM OUT, they all have shit to enjoy and I definetely think everyone can find an aphex twin track that they like, that man is buckwild in his reach and its crazy awesome. I havent even mentioned the new underscores album, or the VOLUNTEERING shift I did today, or A MILLION DIFFERENT THINGS I NEED TO WRITE.
We still have a lot to discuss. But, the internship im looking to get is still up in the air (with a possible interview next week and decision on my getting it coming soon) I have a LOT of studying to do, and my head kinda hurts.
Lets call it a day for now (;n_n).
As always, thanks for reading. Ill see you all soon, enjoy your week!



Leave a comment